Subsection 1.—Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Colonel the Honourable Sir Leonard Outerbridge is the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province and was commissioned on Aug. 17, 1949.

The Legislative Assembly has 28 members elected for a term of five years.

The Premier and each Cabinet Minister receives a salary of \$7,000 per annum plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. Each Member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. An allowance of \$2,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

14.—Legislatures of Newfoundland, 1949-52, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1952 Legislatures, 1949-52

Date of Election	Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution
	1st General Assembly		July 13, 1949	Nov. 3, 1951
Nov. 26, 195	2nd General Assembly	1	Mar. 12, 1952	

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1952.

First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 26, 1951: 22 Liberals; 4 Progressive Conservatives; 2 vacant.)

Note.—Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name		Date of First Appointment	
Premier and Minister of Economic Develop- ment and Minister of Natural Resources.	Hon. J. R. Smallwood	Apr.	1,	1949
Attorney General	Hon. L. R. Curtis	Apr.	1,	1949
Minister of Public Welfare	Hon. H. L. POTTLE	Apr.	4,	1949
Minister of Fisheries and Co-operatives	Hon. W. J. Keough	July	29,	1949
Minister of Education	Hon. S. J. Hefferton	Apr.	4,	1950
Minister of Public Works	Hon. E. S. Spencer	July	29,	1949
Minister of Labour	Hon, C. H. Ballam	Apr.	4,	1950
Minister of Health	Hon. J. R. CHALKER	July	29,	1950
Minister of Supply	Hon. P. S. Forsey	July	29,	1949
Minister of Finance	Hon. Gregory J. Power	Dec.	15,	1951
Minister of Provincial Affairs	Hon, Myles P. Murray	Dec.	15,	1951
Minister without portfolio	Hon. P. J. Lewis	Dec.	15,	1951

Subsection 2.—Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable T. W. L. Prowse, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office on Oct. 4, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 86.